Gryphon Recruitment

Being a Gryphon gives you a chance to shape the Lehigh community. You are given a chance to provide feedback to university officials, provide advice to younger students, and meet other engaged Lehigh students. – Evan Baugh, Class of 2012

That sounds pretty cool, right?  Now that your interest is piqued, take a minute to read the message below from Taran Cardone, the staff member who coordinates Gryphon recruitment and selection.  Following that are some more testimonials by current and former Gryphons about why Gryphoning is the best job on campus!

Hi everyone!
My name is Taran Cardone and I am serving in a new role for the Office of Residence Life (ORL). As the Director of Student Life Curriculum and Residential Staff Development, a large aspect of my work is selecting and recruiting the Gryphon staff with the help of the rest of the ORL professional staff. As an undergraduate student, I was able to serve as a Resident Assistant (we didn’t have a cool name like you all do at Lehigh!) for 3 years and loved every minute of that experience. I learned so much about myself, other people, and the kind of work that I wanted to do after college (which was helpful because I wasn’t too sure about what I wanted to do). Plus, I was able to practice important skills that I still use everyday in the areas of communication, teamwork, conflict resolution, and leadership. It truly was a life-changing opportunity for me and I, therefore, am eager to tell current students to explore that possibility for themselves!
Speaking of which, it is already time to apply to be a Gryphon for next year!  Please join us at the following information session to learn more:
Friday, November 9th @ 12:00 pm in University Center, 409
We would love to see you there and answer any questions that you may have! Feel free to also e-mail us at gryphon@lehigh.edu. Applications are due on Friday, December 7th, 2012 for the 2013-2014 academic year. Those interested in positions for Spring 2013 must submit their applications by Tuesday, November 27th, 2012.

Looking forward to getting to know you through this process!
Taran

“Gryphoning will teach you how to build communities founded upon mutual appreciation of all members. Gryphons empower and encourage residents by caring for their well-being thus forming a comfortable and accepting atmosphere for their individual identities within a group.” – Andrew Josephson, Class of 2013

“Gryphoning gives you a sense of belonging and duty. Because of its supporting structure of peers and mentors, it gives people a sense of pride in the work they do and encourages people to better themselves. It gives introverts the courage and space to share their ideas, and extroverts the anchor and foundation to make their ideas come true. It doesn’t demand you to pretend to be anything that you are not. It doesn’t force you to fit it. Instead, Gryphoning gives every individual a chance to shine, to be cared for, and to take care of others.” – Jennifer Wang, Class of 2012

“Gryphoning allowed me to work in a unique environment, different from any RA at another school. Instead of just enforcing policies, I felt I was there as a resource for all residents as well as a friend. By Gryphoning at Lehigh, I opened up many doors for my future that otherwise would have remained closed.” – Brian Godshall, Class of 2012

“There are multiple reasons why I’d recommend people to Gryphon. First, I really found myself through Gryphoning. Second, Gryphoning is so much fun. Lastly, I’ve made lasting friendships and memories along the way.” – Ram Sinha, Class of 2014

“Although I had been at Lehigh for four years, the decision to Gryphon while pursuing my masters was one of the best choices I have made this year. I have been able to see an entirely different side of Lehigh and been able to interact with so many great students and staff members. I have also learned so much about myself and interacting with others.  No matter what career path anyone may take, these skills can be utilized in any profession. I would definitely recommend Gryphoning for anyone who wants to get involved more with Lehigh!” – Alyssa Siano, Class of 2012, 2013G

“When I first became a Gryphon I expected to gain leadership skills and help shape the residential experience of my residents. In retrospect, I gained so much more! I joined a family that continues to grow, evolve, and that always welcomes me back when I visit campus. The skills I developed and the connections I made with my residents and my fellow Gryphons are priceless. Oh, I also became awesome at making bulletin boards- thanks Gryphoning!” Adam Kohn, Class of 2011

“Gryphoning helped shape me to be the person I am today. When I first started, I was a shy and insecure, but through Gryphoning, I gained confidence, maturity, a greater appreciate for others, but also a greater understanding of what I stand for as a person.” – Daniel Bahner, Class of 2009.

Leave a Reply

