Meet Gryphon Athlete Leah Paulson!

 
Hi!
My name is  Leah Paulson. I’m the Head Gryphon in M&M this year. After having been in Sayre, Campus Square & Trembley, all upperclassman housing, I’m really excited to be in a first year area for the first time! I graduated in May with a BA in Global Studies & Spanish & a minor in Latin American Studies and I am back for a victory lap to get my Masters thanks to a Presidential Scholarship! I will graduate this coming May with an MEd (Masters in Education) in Globalization & Educational Change which includes a TESOL (Teaching English as a Second Language) certificate. I’ve gotten a few academic awards in the College of Arts & Sciences and was the only Global Studies graduate with departmental honors thanks to my thesis.
 
I walked on to the Women’s Rowing Team my sophomore year, was co-captain last year, and still have eligibility to row this year as a grad student which is awesome. I was named to the Academic All-Patriot League Team the past 2 years along with receiving the Faculty Athletics Council Award and PL Academic Honor Roll every season, and my team’s Scholar Athlete Award my junior year. I’m on the Student Athlete Council this year and have been a part of the Leadership Legacies program (for leadership in athletics) both last year and this year. I was also the president of the Residence Hall Association the past 2 years & VP the year before that, and got the RHA character award at the SLLA’s last year which was really cool!
 
I am still figuring out what I want to do after this year, but I definitely want to use my Spanish and possibly want to work in Latin America in a Fulbright-esque situation. No matter where I end up, I want to be using what I’m good at to help people!
Leave a Reply

