Meet the Head Gryphons: Anna D’Ginto

Head Gryphons are residential student staff leaders and role models for the entire Gryphon staff employed by the Office of Residence Life. They serve as peer educators to their residents and act as mentors to their Gryphon colleagues. They are encouraged to promote an educational environment to uphold and honor individual and community rights and responsibilities within the residence halls. What makes Head Gryphons so unique is their opportunity to learn early how to develop professional skills that can be used in the future. The 2014-2015 Head Gryphon staff range from juniors to second year graduate students and they all play an important role in the Gryphon Society. Each Head Gryphon wrote a bit about who they are, what they are involved in, and how to be a successful student at Lehigh University.

Here is the opportunity to get to know all the Head Gryphons in this series- Meet the Head Gryphons:

Displaying Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 2.21.03 PM.png

Name: Anna D’Ginto

Class Year: 2016 (Current Junior)

Major: Double Major in Economics and Political Science, Minor in Business

Hi! My name is Anna D’Ginto, I am the Head Gryphon of Lower Cents this year. I have lived in the Centennials for three years (repreCENTS!); I was a resident of Emery House my first year at Lehigh, and was the Emery 3 Gryphon last year. I became a Gryphon because I wanted to have the opportunity to make a difference in the experiences of first-year students. I have also made many connections and friends through Gryphoning. The Gryphon role has challenged me in many ways and has enabled me to develop as a leader, student, and individual.

In addition to serving as a Gryphon, I am active in the Student Senate. I am the current vice president after previously serving as the Unity Committee chair freshman year and Secretary Sophomore year. As a student Senator, I have had the opportunity to improve my public speaking skills, get to know many wonderful students and administrators, and provide feedback on university wide initiatives. I am also a member of the Federal Reserve Challenge, University Committee on Discipline, and Brown and White Business staff.

I cannot believe I am already halfway through my time at Lehigh! Each of the activities that I have been involved with has shaped me as a person, and I look forward to the many memories that I will make during my remaining time here. If I had to give one piece of advice to current students, it would be to get involved and not be afraid to put yourself out there! You have a unique opportunity to supplement what you are learning in the classroom by joining any of the 150+ clubs and organizations that are offered at Lehigh. Once you join a club, stick with it and run for a leadership position! Also, if you are struggling, don’t be afraid to reach out and ask for help! Between Gryphons, professors, and Dean of Students staff members, there are so many people with the knowledge and resources to make your Lehigh experience positive!

Lehigh is an amazing place; there are so many unique people, opportunities, and resources at your disposal. I hope you maximize your time and take advantage of all that Lehigh has to offer!

Leave a Reply

